Panasonic Canada Inc. - Customer Privacy Statement

Panasonic's Customer Privacy Statement is summarized under the following headings:

Our commitment to privacy
Information collected from you
Other information collected
With whom we may share information
Links to other web sites
Questions or concerns
Amending this privacy statement

Our commitment to privacy
Panasonic Canada is committed to maintaining the accuracy, security and privacy of Personal Information that we collect from you. All information that you provide to us will be collected, used, retained and disclosed only in accordance with the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (Canada), or substantially similar legislation where enacted in your province of residence. Panasonic Canada has adopted and adhere to the ten the principles of fair information practices, which are set out at http://www.priv.gc.ca/leg_c/p_principle_e.asp

Generally speaking, "Personal Information" is information about an identifiable individual, subject to more particular definitions or interpretations under applicable law. Please note that the following types of information are excluded from the restrictions described in this Privacy Statement: information about you from which you cannot be identified; the name, title, business address or telephone number of an employee of an organization; and any other information that is not personal information as defined in or interpreted under applicable law.

By purchasing a product or service, submitting a warranty card, participating in our web sites, or otherwise providing us with your Personal Information, we consider that you are accepting the practices described in this Privacy Statement.

Our websites and the services offered thereon are not directed to children under the age of 13 years. We will not knowingly collect Personal Information from children under the age of 13.

Information collected from you
The Personal Information that we collect from our customers and how we use it is described in this section. From time to time other situations may arise where we collect Personal Information and in these situations we will do so in accordance with the privacy principles described above.

  1. On-Line Purchases
    (a) Panasonic Canada sells products on line and collects your name and address for the purpose of processing and delivering your order (and any other matter incidental to processing and delivery of your order). The services of a certified third party payment provider are utilized to process on-line payments. Your credit card information is collected for the sole purpose of payment processing by Verisign; it is not stored by Panasonic Canada or available to Panasonic Canada or any other third party for any other reason. (For information on the Security and Privacy Policy of this payment provider, please visit their website at http://www.verisign.com/.)

    (b) Panasonic Canada sells extended warranties online and collects your name and address for the purposes of processing your order. Panasonic Canada transfers your name and address to a certified third party payment provider (Verisign) which further processes on-line payments. Your credit card information is collected for the sole purpose of payment processing by Verisign; it is not stored by Panasonic Canada or available to Panasonic Canada or any other third party for any other reason. (For information on the Security and Privacy Policy of this payment provider, please visit their website at http://www.verisign.com/.)

    (c) Personal information provided to facilitate the payment of your order is transmitted using Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocol, an internet technology used to protect your Personal Information from being intercepted or used for unauthorized means. However, data transmission over the Internet cannot be guaranteed to be 100% secure. As a result, while this website strives to protect your Personal Information, we cannot warrant the security of any information you transmit to us, and you do so at your own risk.

  2. Membership
    Panasonic Canada offers membership programs to its eStore. The registration and subsequent use of these programs collects information that may be: required, optional, or automatically collected.

    (a) Required information includes such things as member name, group identification and communication opt in / opt out options. This type of information is used to validate members login and account privileges.

    (b) Optional information includes such things as member product preferences, address book information and communication email address. This type of information is used to facilitate the members purchasing experience, and to customize communication from Panasonic Canada as members may opt to receive.

    (c) Automatic information is collected with each members visit and is used to assist Panasonic Canada in customizing the members visit experience.

  3. Warranty/Service/Customer Care
    We may collect Personal Information, either directly or indirectly, as a result of service being performed on Panasonic products. This information is required for contact and/or billing purposes. When Panasonic product is serviced under warranty, Personal Information is required in order to validate the warranty status of the product and to monitor the quality of work performed by our authorized service centres. We may also collect Personal Information from you in order to provide you with customer support regarding the purchase, installation or use of Panasonic product.

  4. Participation in Contests, Promotions, or Surveys
    From time to time, we may run contests, promotions, or surveys. If you participate, you may be asked for contact information as well as additional optional survey information (for example, product preferences). Subject to Note vi. below, "Promotional Mailings", any Personal Information from contest entries will be used to contact you if your entry is selected. We may also summarize survey information for analysis in a manner that no longer identifies the contest entrants, but will not share Personal Information from entries. All contests are subject to rules that govern each particular contest.

  5. Rebates
    From time to time, Panasonic Canada may offer rebates on specific models purchased. To claim your rebate, you will usually be asked to provide certain contact information along with proof of purchase. You may also be asked to provide your consent to be added to promotional mailings and/or newsletters. Your consent is not a condition of receiving the rebate.

  6. Promotional Mailings
    In each of the above examples, Panasonic Canada may ask for your express consent to use your Personal Information to advise you of products, services and special offers by mail or email. We will only send you this information if you "opt-in" to receive these mailings.

Other information collected:

  1. Visitorship data
    We analyze information about visits to our website that includes: the date and time of the visit, the sections or pages visited, the IP address of the Internet Provider. The information is used in aggregate to improve the content and organization of our website.

  2. Cookies
    Our website uses "cookies", an Internet technology that places a small amount of information on your computer to recognize you during your visit and only to facilitate the buying of product on our website should you so choose. Cookies do not collect Personal Information.

(Please note that by submitting Personal Information to us, you consent to our use and disclosure of the information for the purpose described above.)

With whom we may share information
In the course of doing business, we employ other companies to perform a variety of functions on our behalf. For example, at times we may retain third parties to analyze, update and correct data we collect on our website, including Personal Information, to help us improve our products, our database and our website. In addition, we may share Personal Information with agents, suppliers, fulfillment houses and other third parties to allow for the processing of on-line sales, delivery of prizes, rebates, information, products or services, including answering questions about products, or otherwise providing customer care. These suppliers and other third parties may have access to your Personal Information if it is needed to perform their functions for Panasonic Canada, but they are not authorized by us to use your Personal Information in any way other than the intended use. Some of these third parties may be located outside of Canada and, as such, they are subject to foreign laws including laws that may require disclosure of personal information to foreign government authorities.

For on-line purchases, Panasonic Canada has teamed with a business partner to provide the distribution of Panasonic products and logistical support for consumers. Together with this business partner, we will only collect the Personal Information for the purposes of processing your order and delivering your order (and any other matter incidental to processing and delivery of your order).

Except as stated in this Privacy Statement, or as required or permitted by law, we do not sell or disclose your Personal Information without your prior consent.

Links to other web sites
Our website may contain links to other websites or Internet resources. When you click on one of these links, you are contacting another website or Internet resource. Panasonic Canada has no responsibility or liability for, or control over, these other websites or Internet resources or their collection, use and disclosure of your Personal Information.

We encourage you to read the privacy policies contained within these other websites to learn how they collect and use Personal Information about you.

Questions or Concerns
Panasonic Canada is accountable for all Personal Information under its control. Our Chief Privacy Officer is accountable for Panasonic Canada's compliance with the principles and policies described here. If you have any questions, concerns or complaints about the privacy policies stated here, you can:

Amending this privacy statement
Panasonic Canada reserves the right to amend this Privacy Statement along with any related provisions from time to time.

Last updated April 2013

Déclaration de Panasonic Canada Inc. en matière de protection de la confidentialité

Les principales composantes de la déclaration de confidentialité pour la clientèle de Panasonic sont énoncées sous les rubriques suivantes :

Notre engagement à l'égard de la confidentialité
Les renseignements que vous fournissez
Autres renseignements recueillis
Ceux avec qui nous pouvons partager ces renseignements
Liens vers d'autres sites Web
Questions ou préoccupations
Modification de la présente déclaration

Notre engagement à l'égard de la confidentialité
Panasonic Canada s’engage à maintenir l'exactitude, la sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements personnels que vous nous communiquez. Tous les renseignements que vous nous fournissez seront collectés, utilisés, conservés et divulgués conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (Canada), ou toute loi de nature similaire en vigueur dans votre province de résidence. Panasonic Canada a adopté et respecte les dix principes régissant la protection des renseignements personnels tels que présentés sur le site http://www.priv.gc.ca/leg_c/p_principle_f.asp

En règle générale, le terme « renseignement personnel » réfère à tout renseignement concernant un individu identifiable sous réserve de définitions ou d'interprétations plus précises en vertu de la loi applicable. Veuillez noter que les types suivants de renseignements sont exclus des restrictions décrites dans la présente Déclaration en matière de protection de la confidentialité : renseignements vous concernant mais ne permettant pas de vous identifier; le nom, le poste, l'adresse ou le numéro de téléphone d'affaires d'un employé d'une organisation; et tout autre renseignement qui ne constitue pas un renseignement personnel tel que défini ou interprété en vertu d'une loi applicable.

L'achat d'un produit ou d'un service, la soumission d'une carte de garantie, la participation à nos sites Web ou la communication à notre entreprise de vos renseignements personnels est considéré comme indiquant que vous acceptez les pratiques décrites dans la présente Déclaration en matière de protection de la confidentialité.

Nos sites Web et les services qui y sont offerts ne sont pas destinés à des enfants de moins de 13 ans. Nous ne collecterons sciemment aucun renseignement personnel de la part d'enfants de moins de 13 ans.

Les renseignements que vous fournissez
Cette section décrit les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons auprès de nos clients et l'usage que nous en faisons. De temps à autre, il pourra arriver qu'une situation donnée requière la collecte de renseignements personnels. Dans de tels cas, nous veillerons à respecter les principes de confidentialité énoncés précédemment.

  1. Achats en ligne
    (a) Panasonic Canada offre l'achat en ligne de produits et collecte vos nom et adresse pour le traitement et la livraison de votre commande (ou toute autre information liée au traitement et à la livraison de votre commande). Nous avons retenu les services d'une tierce partie accréditée responsable du traitement des paiements en ligne. Les informations relatives à votre carte de crédit ne sont recueillies que pour le traitement de votre paiement par Verisign; ces informations ne sont pas sauvegardées par Panasonic Canada ni divulguées à Panasonic Canada ou à toute tierce partie pour toute autre raison. (Pour des informations sur la déclaration de confidentialité et de protection des renseignements de ce fournisseur, veuillez en visiter le site Web à www.verisign.com.)

    (b) Panasonic Canada offre l'achat en ligne d'une garantie prolongée et collecte vos nom et adresse pour le traitement de votre commande. Panasonic Canada transmet votre nom et votre adresse à une tierce partie accréditée (Verisign), laquelle prend en charge le traitement des paiements en ligne. Les informations relatives à votre carte de crédit ne sont recueillies que pour le traitement de votre paiement par Verisign; ces informations ne sont pas sauvegardées par Panasonic Canada ni divulguées à Panasonic Canada ou à toute tierce partie pour toute autre raison. (Pour des informations sur la déclaration de confidentialité et de protection des renseignements de ce fournisseur, veuillez en visiter le site Web à www.verisign.com.)

    (c) Les renseignements personnels fournis pour permettre le paiement de votre commande sont transmis conformément au protocole SSL (protocole sécurisé de cryptage), une technologie Internet utilisée pour protéger vos renseignements personnels contre leur interception ou leur utilisation à des fins non autorisées. Toutefois, la sécurité des transmissions de données sur l'Internet ne peut être garantie à 100 %. Par conséquent, bien que ce site Web s'efforce de protéger vos renseignements personnels, nous ne pouvons garantir la sécurité des renseignements que vous nous transmettez; vous le faites donc à vos propres risques.

  2. Adhésion
    Panasonic Canada propose des programmes d'adhésion disponibles par le biais de sa boutique en ligne. L'enregistrement et l'utilisation subséquente de ces programmes engendrent la collecte de renseignements qui sont obligatoires, facultatifs ou automatiquement saisis.

    (a) Les renseignements obligatoires sont les suivants : nom de l'adhérent, identification de groupe et acceptation ou refus de communications. Ces renseignements sont utilisés pour valider les privilèges d'ouverture de session et de compte des adhérents.

    (b) Les renseignements facultatifs sont les suivants : produits préférés, coordonnées et adresse de courriel. Ces renseignements sont utilisés pour faciliter l'expérience d’achat des adhérents et pour personnaliser les communications de la part de Panasonic Canada que les adhérents pourraient avoir choisi de recevoir.

    (c) Les renseignements saisis automatiquement sont recueillis lors de la visite de chaque adhérent et sont utilisés pour aider Panasonic Canada à personnaliser l'expérience de consultation des adhérents.

  3. Garantie/Service/Service à la clientèle
    Nous pouvons recueillir des renseignements personnels, directement ou indirectement, à la suite d'un entretien effectué sur des produits Panasonic. Ces renseignements sont requis à des fins de contact et de facturation. Lorsque l'entretien de produits Panasonic s'effectue sous garantie, des renseignements personnels sont requis afin de valider le statut de celle-ci sur le produit et de contrôler la qualité du travail effectué par nos centres de service agréés. Nous pouvons également obtenir de vous des renseignements personnels afin de vous offrir des services à la clientèle en ce qui concerne l'achat, l'installation ou l'utilisation de produits Panasonic.

  4. Participation à des concours, des promotions ou des sondages
    De temps à autre, nous pouvons organiser des concours, des promotions ou des sondages. Si vous y participez, on peut vous demander des renseignements sur vos coordonnées ainsi que des renseignements supplémentaires facultatifs dans le cadre d'un sondage (par exemple, vos préférences sur les produits). Sous réserve du paragraphe vi. ci-après, « Distributions publicitaires », les renseignements des bulletins de participation aux concours serviront à vous contacter si votre inscription est choisie. Nous pouvons aussi résumer aux fins d'analyse les renseignements recueillis dans le cadre du sondage, de façon à ne plus identifier les participants au concours, mais nous ne partagerons pas les renseignements personnels des bulletins de participation. Chaque concours est soumis à des règlements qui lui sont propres.

  5. Rabais
    De temps à autre, Panasonic Canada peut offrir des rabais sur des modèles précis. Pour pouvoir réclamer votre rabais, on vous demandera habituellement de fournir certains renseignements sur vos coordonnées ainsi que votre preuve d'achat. On vous demandera peut-être aussi de consentir à recevoir des publipostages et des bulletins d'information. Votre consentement n'est pas une condition pour recevoir le rabais.

  6. Distributions publicitaires
    Dans chacun des exemples présentés plus haut, Panasonic Canada peut demander votre autorisation d'utiliser vos renseignements personnels pour vous faire parvenir par courrier ou par la poste des informations sur des produits, services et offres spéciales. Nous ne vous enverrons ces informations que si vous indiquez vouloir les recevoir.

Autres renseignements recueillis :

  1. Données sur la visite
    Nous analysons les données sur les visites, dont les données suivantes : la date et l'heure de la visite, les sections ou les pages visitées, l'adresse IP du fournisseur d'accès. Ces renseignements sont utilisés en agrégé et servent à améliorer le contenu et l'organisation de notre site Web.

  2. Témoins (« cookies »)
    Notre site Web utilise des témoins ou « cookies », une technologie Internet qui installe sur votre ordinateur une petite quantité d'informations dans le but de vous reconnaître au cours de votre visite et dans le seul but de faciliter l'achat de nos produits en ligne le cas échéant. Ces témoins ne recueillent aucun renseignement personnel.

(Veuillez prendre note qu'en nous confiant des renseignements personnels, vous consentez à leur utilisation et à leur divulgation aux fins décrites ci-dessus.)

Ceux avec qui nous pouvons partager ces renseignements
Dans l'exercice de nos activités, nous employons d'autres entreprises qui se chargent de diverses fonctions en notre nom. Par exemple, nous pouvons à l'occasion employer des tiers pour analyser, mettre à jour et corriger des données que nous avons recueillies dans notre site Web, y compris des renseignements personnels, dans le but d'améliorer nos produits, notre base de données et notre site Web. De plus, nous pouvons partager les renseignements personnels avec des agents, des fournisseurs, des sociétés de couponnage et d'autres tierces parties pour faciliter le traitement des achats en ligne, la distribution de prix, de rabais, de renseignements, de produits ou de services, y compris pour répondre aux questions sur les produits ou tout autre service relatif à la clientèle. Ces fournisseurs et autres tiers peuvent avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels dans la mesure où ceux-ci sont nécessaires à l'accomplissement des fonctions des fournisseurs à notre compte, mais nous n'autorisons pas ces derniers à utiliser vos renseignements personnels à des fins différentes de celles qui sont définies. Certaines des tierces parties peuvent se situer à l'extérieur du Canada et sont donc dans ce cas assujetties aux lois étrangères, y compris aux lois qui peuvent exiger la divulgation d'information personnelle aux autorités du gouvernement afférent.

Pour les achats en ligne, Panasonic Canada s'est associée à un partenaire d'affaires pour la distribution des produits Panasonic et le soutien logistique aux clients. De pair avec ce partenaire, nous ne recueillerons que les renseignements personnels nécessaires au traitement et à la livraison de votre commande (ou toute autre information liée au traitement et à la livraison de votre commande).

Sauf dans les cas cités dans la présente déclaration de confidentialité ou conformément aux prescriptions de la loi, nous ne vendons pas, ne transférons pas et ne divulguons pas vos renseignements personnels sans votre consentement préalable.

Liens vers d'autres sites Web
Notre site Web peut contenir des liens vers d'autres sites Web ou des ressources Internet. Lorsque vous cliquez sur l'un de ces liens, vous accédez à un autre site Web ou à une ressource Internet. Panasonic Canada n'est aucunement responsable de ces autres sites Web ou ressources Internet et ne contrôle aucunement la collecte, l'utilisation ou la divulgation de leur part des renseignements personnels qui vous concernent.

Nous vous invitons à lire les déclarations de confidentialité de ces autres sites pour apprendre comment ils recueillent et utilisent des renseignements sur vous.

Questions ou préoccupations
Panasonic Canada est responsable de tous les renseignements personnels qu'elle traite. Notre chef de la protection des renseignements personnels est responsable de la conformité de Panasonic Canada à l'égard des politiques et procédures énoncées dans la présente déclaration de confidentialité. Pour toute question, préoccupation ou plainte à propos des politiques de confidentialité énoncées dans la présente déclaration, vous pouvez :

  • Nous appeler au numéro 1 905 624-5010
  • Envoyer un courriel à : chiefprivacyofficer@ca.panasonic.com
  • Nous écrire aux soins du :
    Chef de la protection des renseignements personnels
    5770 Ambler Drive
    Mississauga (Ontario), L4W 2T3

Modification de la présente déclaration
Panasonic Canada se réserve le droit de modifier de temps à autre la présente déclaration de confidentialité ainsi que toute provision s'y rattachant.

Version révisée en avril 2013